FAQ Memberlist Usergroups Register Log in
Profile Log in to check your private messages Search

Economic Models for Webcomics
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next

TessandraFae

PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 9:41 pm    Post subject: Economic Models for Webcomics Reply with quote

Hi Lady Yates,
I'm sorry Wowio and Buzz hasn't worked for you. As a fellow artist, I can understand your frustration at trying to find a way to make what you love to do profitable. So, I'm starting a chain for the members to try to brainstorm ways to help you make money.

So, I've heard a hot trend is virtual trophies and gifts. Basically, you can set up a shopping site, where people can buy virtual trophies or gifts to give to other members. Then members can have their own page, like a myspace page, showcasing the trophies or gifts they have received or sent, making it competitive. You can tier the price of the trophy/gift, so that the more expensive the trophy/gift given or received, then the more esteem that member holds or gives to another member.

You can also choose to use the forum as a way to spread exposure of the comic, and reward members with trophies for number of referrals, quality posts to the forum, number of votes, etc.

What else can we do to help Lady Yates?
Tinalles
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue Oct 21, 2008 1:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hmm. Virtual trophies strike me as extremely easy to copy. There are, of course, technological measures that one could take to make copying harder (digital rights management). However, DRM is technically complex, and usually self-defeating. It doesn't stop determined bad guys, and it tends to get in the way of honest people trying to do permissible things, which annoys them, and makes them less likely to buy future things.

Basically, any revenue stream which depends entirely on people NOT copying digital objects is doomed in the long run.

As I see it, there are only a few basic ways of making money from a web comic:

1) Advertising.